How a Sharpie Can Help Sharpen Your Knife

A sharp knife is something every outdoorsman or woman should have.

It’s important to have a sharp knife if you spend anytime outdoors, or even for home use. The trick is getting a knife to hold a good edge. There are many tricks to sharpening a knife. Have you ever considered the benefits a Sharpie could bring to the sharpening process? Outdoor Life shares advice on using a permanent marker to get the perfect hone on any knife.

I’m such an outspoken fan of replaceable-blade knives for field dressing, caping, and butchering that I’ve apparently earned a reputation as someone who doesn’t know how to sharpen a knife.

In reality, I use folders and fixed blades for much of my hunting work, and I spend so much of my time sharpening them that I’ve learned a few tricks to hone a sharper, more durable edge. Here’s a simple new way to approach an ancient task: sharpening your knife… [continued]

Leave a Reply

